Mr.StrictlyIntimate

the Life, the Love and the Sex of Vienna.

You’ve Got the Love.


You've Got the Love by Candi Staton

Do you remember the last episode of Sex and the City? Season six; Episode 94 overall and 20 if you just count the episodes in between one season – An American Girl in Paris (Part Deux). I don’t know why but somehow during work this episode came to my mind. Not the actual episode but a certain moment. The final moment to be more precise. The one special moment where Charlotte, Miranda and Samantha are sitting at their regular restaurant talking about their days when all of a sudden the door opens and Carrie walks in; radiant with happiness to be back where she knows she is being loved by three wonderful ladies – her closest friends. At this moment the sounds of Candi Staton’s ‘You’ve Got the Love’ start to tune in and the last moments of a TV-Show that accompanied me throughout the best and worst of times; years showing me that love is everywhere and all around me. In fashion, in friends, in cities and in people you might accidentally meet along the way of living this fabulous life.

To put it in Carrie Bradshaw’s words, ‘Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.’

It isn’t just the scene itself or the music that makes me think a lot; it is the fact that I can relate to this scene for knowing that no matter where I go – every time I come back to the place I know the best even though I do not like it the most, if my friends are there everything will be alright and everything will be okay. So I dedicate this entry not just to my friends but to all of you who have got the love. The love of their dearest and closest friends.

So, if you are in desperate need of a song that makes you feel the love of those around you, I have something right here:

Candi Staton – You’ve Got the Love

Sometimes I feel like throwing my hands up in the air
I know I can count on you

Sometimes I feel like saying, “Lord, I just don’t care”
But you’ve got the love I need to see me through

Sometimes I see that the boy is just too rough
And things go wrong no matter what I do
Now it feels like life is just too much
You’ve got the love I need to see me through

Sometimes I feel like throwing my hands up in the air
I know I can count on you

Sometimes I feel like saying, “Lord, I just don’t care”
But you’ve got the love I need to see me through

Time after time I say, “Oh Lord what’s the use?”
Time after time I say, “This just won’t do”
But sooner or later in life the things you love you lose
Just like before, I know I call you

I can’t believe my palms, degrading friends of you
I can’t believe my fire, oh Lord, what must I do
I can’t believe what I caught up, master made me new
But you’ve got the love I need to see me through

Sometimes I feel like throwing my hands up in the air
I know I can count on you

Sometimes I feel like saying, “Lord, I just don’t care”
But you’ve got the love I need to see me through

You’ve got the love
You’ve got the love
You’ve got the love
You’ve got the love

I need to see me through
I need to see me through
I need to see me through
I need to see me through

You’ve got the love, yov’ve got the love, you’ve got the love
You’ve got the love, you’ve got the love, you’ve got the love

If you take a careful look around you might realize you too have got the love. Be happy about it. Celebrate it. But don’t just count on your friends, let them count on you too!

You’ve Got the Love.

XOXO

Mr.StrictlyIntimate

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

