Mr.StrictlyIntimate

the Life, the Love and the Sex of Vienna.

the Dior gone bad – Resort 2011 Collection


Isn’t it funny how some people go from rags to riches and some from riches to never having existet? Well, that is actually just something I have been thinking about while sitting on my bed, enjoying the coole breeze outside my cozy four walls, suffering a bit from fever and writing my bachelor thesis – which should be finished in exactly one week.
Nevertheless, as an official Dior fan I came across the new Resort 2011 Womenswear Collection which has been presented in an exclusive and tremendous fashion metropolis – Shanghai for the first time in Dior history. John Galliano’s creations are some kind of hommage to the Lolita, the Grand Dame and the Dandy, all in one show and one collection, which seems to be quite a lot for one show – if you ask me.

Usually I am quite fond of everything the genius himself creates, but considering this collection I have to say, that I am quite disappointed, because in my point of view all those clothes do not fit together. They do not tell those marvelous stories of visions and colors and love for fashion – right now all I can see are colors without a scheme, designs without a scheme and a collection without an actual concept.

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 1

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 1

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 2

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 2

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 3

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 3

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 4

Dior Resort 2011 - Look 4

All you could see have been marine stripes meeting candy colors – gamine trenches meeting fedoras teamed with tapering and all in all there still is me feeling that it just did not fit at all. The only thing that took me have been those beautiful Dior Haute Couture dresses.

Dior Haute Couture - Look 1

Dior Haute Couture - Look 1

Dior Haute Couture - Look 2

Dior Haute Couture - Look 2

Dior Haute Couture - Look 3

Dior Haute Couture - Look 3

Dior Haute Couture - Look 4

Dior Haute Couture - Look 4

Well – thinking about the conclusion on this piece here I just have to say, that one shot gone bad is truly acceptable and that my love for all the Dior in this world did not sink in – though I hope and wish that for the next show monsieur Galliano will come up with something better or else the house of Dior should be thinking about a change.

XOXO

Mr.StrictlyIntimate

P.S.: Btw – talking about Dior and before about the Lady Dior bag I have to show you a picture of Sex and the City 2 – Charlotte York-Goldenblatt wearing the hot pink version of Lady Dior.

Lady Dior loves herself in hot pink

Lady Dior loves herself in hot pink

You can watch the Dior Resort Show here: http://www.diorcouture.com/videoplayer/index4.html

6 Comments»

  Nadine wrote @

I like the Haute Couture collection by Dior too:)

  peek-a-boo wrote @

R I must say I wasn’t enthralled with this collection either and God knows I’m one of John’s fervent supporters.Then I tried to put it all into perspective & realised its a resort collection so there’s less emphasis on creativity perhaps?Every piece is utterly wearable straight off the runway & the collection will sell very well like Dior’s other resort collection.The formula seems right & its obviously a business descision.Frankly I couldn’t tell the collection apart from a RTW one.Like safe-sex its safe-fashion today for the big houses.JMHO of course.
THANK GOD Galliano blows off his frustrated steam at Dior to give us his marvellous collections at his House of Galliano & Alleluah!
I just can’t give up on John.He’s given me so much joy & bewilderment in the past I know I’ll luv him forever.I never underestimate him & know he’ll wow us again in his next House of Galliano collection.

  peek-a-boo wrote @

Btw I forgot to mention how I thought the Chanel resort collection was boring.I loved the show at the port of St.Tropez but the collection was about as creative as my grandmother’s macramé hammock.It was really a lot of fuss over nothing.

  Mr.StrictlyIntimate wrote @

Well – I cannot give up on John either – he is the perfect mix of drama and attitude that every designer should have.

I hope after such a fail, even though I have to agree, that the whole collection was completely wearable which is a plus for me, he recovers and shows his ingenius creativeness again.

xoxo

  Mr.StrictlyIntimate wrote @

Well – actually this time I have been quite satisfied with it. The last years have been quite a copy of themselves – every single time over and over again, but this time I felt something different, another vibe, another attitude, another style intesity.

xoxo

  katja wrote @

bin deiner meinung. bisschen inspiraionslos – verstehe immer noch nicht, was das konzept dieser kollektion war. vielleicht ich-mixe-aktuelle-dauerbrenner-wie-candy-farben-und-streifen-mit-lederjacken-und-es-wird-sich-in-china-super-verkaufen. die einzelteile wären schön – für zara oder h&m. & sie sind furchtbar inspirationslos miteinander kombiniert.


Leave a Reply

