Mr.StrictlyIntimate

the Life, the Love and the Sex of Vienna.

Marc Jacobs – the Big Fail and the missing Manners


Sometimes something goes very very very very wrong – just like Marc Jacobs’ new collection for Louis Vuitton [Spring/Summer 2011], which I have been watching yesterday at 2.30 pm via livestream in our fashion office, straight away from Paris Fashion Week runways. I wasn’t just disappointed about the whole concept of the show, I was angry, that I was using my time looking at such clothes, while I could have done something better.
Actually my patience was wearing thin afer I have seen the fifth outfit, after the sixth I thought about thorwing the mac screen out of the window, but then I fashionably calmed myself and thought about writing my thoughts on the collection down, to show you what to really NOT wear – and if you stick with me, you will never be out of style, that is one thing you and I know for sure.

So back to monsieur Jacobs who walked on that runway to take a bow in a manner that I would either describe as drunk – or completely stoned…btw though it’s 2010 it is still totally and inadequately inappropriate to chew gum with your mouth wide open – maybe you’ll keep that in mind for the next time.
The whole collection was way too Cavalli for my taste – too much animal print, way too much colour and way way way too much of everything except for taste. The only deep thing of this shallow collection was the fact that before the show there has been lying a quote from an essay of Susan Sonntag on every single chair. It said: ‘The relation between boredom and camp taste cannot be overestimated’ – actually it can…I have been overdramatically bored and well, we do not talk about the camp taste…it was just tasteless everything from the tigers in the back to the clothes on the women’s back.

Though the collection was very Art Deco and Art Nouveau it seemed a bit tasteless because neither the colours did fit, nor the concept – if there was one actually. Never know, never mind, never think about it again.

This year only a few Labels such as Hermès, Lanvin, Bottega Veneta, Balmain and Elie Saab could win over my heart, but maybe you’ll try next time again Mr. Jacobs. Marc.

XOXO

Mr.StrictlyIntimate

3 Comments»

  felix wrote @

LANVIN, JIL SANDER… my favs!

  Mr.StrictlyIntimate wrote @

Oh yeah – Jil Sander was definitely a turn on. Very straight acting, very clean, very strict but casually working, very sensual and above all very simple but yet so beautiful!

xoxo

  peek-a-boo wrote @

But this collection was said to be aimed at the Chinese market.
Tigers,pandas,cheongsams,samfoos,lurex & neon lights….get it?
I’m betting it will wow the Chinese customers especially the panda sequined top.
However I have to say I don’t see what the zebra prints have to do with China.


Leave a Reply

