Mr.StrictlyIntimate

the Life, the Love and the Sex of Vienna.

American Vogue May 2011: Alexander the Great


(Reese Witherspoon wears a Roland Mouret black-and-cream-silk top. Photographer: Peter Lindbergh. Fashion Editor: Tonne Goodman.)

Every Year wonderful Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief of US Vogue, organizes the Met Gala or Met Ball in honor of one particular Designer. This year it took place on May 2nd and was a beautiful homage to a man so special and unique, so inspirational and talented that every show simply took your breath away. Dear Alexander McQueen – we miss you and your ideas and influences and powerful fashion voice so much!

Anna Wintour at the Met Gala 2011 wearing Chanel Couture.

Creative Director of Alexander McQueen: Sarah Burton at the Met Gala 2011.

Since the Austrian magazine market is always way too late when it comes to delivering the American/ US Vogue as soon as it is printed and published, I got it today (finally!) specially delivered from my trusted magazine dealer. As I held this shiny piece of dedication and love for fashion in my hands I just couldn’t wait to turn the pages to see the shooting dedicated to Alexander McQueen, which is a printed piece of ‘Savage Beauty’ a retrospective on the astonishing, provocative but influential work and talent of the grand master of fashion.

Widows of Culloden, Fall 2006
(on Model Karen Elson)

Voss, Spring 2001
(on model Stella Tennant)

Number 13, Spring 1999
(on model Karlie Kloss)

Sarabande, Spring 2007
(on model Caroline Trentini)

It’s Only a Game, Spring 2005
(on model Raquel Zimmermann)

Voss, Spring 2001
(on model Coco Rocha)

Photographed by Steven Meisel
Fashion Editor: Grace Coddington

Production Design by Mary Howard

Make up: Pat McGrath for CoverGirl
Hair: Guido for Redken

As I had the whole day for myself and my Vogue I came back to thinking about fashion and what it means to me – yet again. But all I can say is all that I feel… it is simple… yet maybe not quite impressing for some of you but it is what it is and as I sit here I smile and gaze at the beautiful shootings and clothes and dresses and my entire Vogue collection in front of me and all the Look Books that I collected so far and the Fashion Movies and Books in front of my eyes, the bags in one corner, the collectible shopping bags in another corner and a marvelous Jessica Stam for Dior 2007 Shooting pinned onto my door… and all I can say is… I love every piece of fashion that was made with heart, soul and the insatiable desire of developing even further and writing fashion history as well as being able to give the one that wears fashion with his heart and soul as well, the distinct feeling of being someone special, invincible and visible – someone with a strong voice and an unbreakable love for fashion.

Someone like me. No matter where I go. No matter what I do. No matter how much others judge me or call me stupid or shallow or whatever they call me. Everything I can do is smile and say only one thing: ‘EVERYTHING I AM AND EVERYTHING I DO, I AM AND I DO WITH STYLE!’.

XOXO

Mr.StrictlyIntimate

P.S. Here is a little insight on other pieces shown at the Met.

1 Comment»

[…] American Vogue May 2011: Alexander the Great (mrstrictlyintimate.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

