Mr.StrictlyIntimate

the Life, the Love and the Sex of Vienna.

Leona Lewis: the Song That Makes Me Want to Believe in Love


After a long but very educational day at the SEOkomm Academy I am finally at home (since a couple of hours actually but you know there comes the Vogue time, the showering time, the communicating with B time and then the Big Bang Theory time) and ready to write. Obviously, as you are reading words I have written a couple of minutes ago.

So here I sit listen to a song hat I publicly have to declare being the number one love / romantic song of all times. There is no song like this one. At least to me there isn’t for I have to say that every time I listen to it (which is quite often as you can guess) I almost start to cry because of its beauty, its simplicity – the lyrics (originally by Snow Patrol – but to me their version is way different. Still unbelievably beautiful and well, the original, but this… is just pure perfection to me!); the melody; the simplicity of stripping down everything to just being a piano and an incredible, unbeatable voice; the choir when the singer sets in to sing the chorus for a last final time with all her heart and soul and breathtaking voiceLeona Lewis. The ultimate power when it comes to talent.

Leona Lewis – Run [from the Album Spirit (Deluxe Edition)]
(written by Gary Lightbody, Jonathan Quinn, Mark McClelland, Nathan Connolly and Iain Archer | produced by Jacknife Lee/Snow Patrol)

I’ll sing it one last time for you
Then we really have to go
You’ve been the only thing that’s right
In all I’ve done

And I can barely look at you
But every single time I do
I know we’ll make it anywhere
Away from here

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I’ll be right beside you, dear

Louder, louder
And we’ll run for our lives
I can hardly speak, I understand
Why you can’t raise your voice to say

To think I might not see those eyes
Makes it so hard not to cry
And as we say our long goodbyes
I nearly do

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I’ll be right beside you, dear

Louder, louder
And we’ll run for our lives
I can hardly speak, I understand
Why you can’t raise your voice to say

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I’ll be right beside you, dear

Louder, louder
And we’ll run for our lives
I can hardly speak, I understand

Why you can’t raise your voice to say

Whenever I listen to the song (whether it is recorded or a live version) it gives me the chills; it makes my heart beat in a rhythm it beat the last time when I was in love for the very first time with a man who I thought would never leave me left to bleed, who would never disappoint me and leave me all by my lonesome self; it brings tears to my eyes, even though crying isn’t something I usually do (at least not since a year now). It is the most beautiful, most touching, most breathtaking, most emotional song and to me it means the world. It means love even though I do not believe in it anymore but if love would exist it would feel like this… like listening to the song. Warm, intimate, familiar, trusted.

And now there is just one thing for you to do… to feel what I feel every time I close my eyes to listen to the song. Play this live version recorded 2007 when the song premiered on Radio One Live Lounge, place yourself on your bed as comfortably as possible… close your eyes and simply let this song sneak into your body… working its way further into your innermost… into your soul… until it reaches the very core of your emotional being. Let it touch you there – right there and feel it. Simply feel it.

This is love. Ultimately. Purely. Truly. Faithfully. Sacredly. Sincerely.

XOXO

Mr.StrictlyIntimate

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

